4-Hour NAIC Long-Term Care and Partnership
THIS COURSE MUST ONLY BE TAKEN IF YOU HAVE ALREADY TAKEN THE 8-HOUR NAIC LTC COURSE DURING A PRIOR LICENSE PERIOD!
The Deficit Reduction Act made it possible for all states who wish to to offer Partnership for Long-term Care policies. The NAIC model law and regulation specify that agents must meet certain continuation requirements in order to sell this product. In most states, agents will be required to take an 8-hour course in order to transact any type of LTC/Partnership LTC insurance policies. Agents must then take a 4-hour CE course each license period.
This course will satisfy the requirement for ongoing CE required by your state to continue to sell LTC/Partnership insurance. If you have a group of agents to train, please contact us regarding group discounts or in-house training.
For the most up to date information about Long Term Care & Partnership in your state click here.
Minnesota State Requirements
Continuing Education Hours
- 24 hours biennially including 3 hours of ethics.
- Individuals licensed more than 6 months prior to the first renewal date need to only complete 15 hours of CE for that first reporting period.
- Agents selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care insurance must complete an initial 8 hour course on Long Term Care insurance and 4 hours on Long Term Care every two years thereafter.
- All Minnesota licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies shall be required to complete a one-time 3 hour requirement on flood insurance.
Continuing Education Compliance Date
Licenses issued before August 1, 2010, with an October 31, 2010 renewal date will renew as scheduled. After the 10/31/10 renewal, renewal dates will change as described below.
For all other licenses, the license renewal date will change from October 31 to the last day of the licensee's birth month. This change will be phased in according to the accompanying "Birth month renewals" chart provided by the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
Click here to find the MN Birth Month Renewal Chart.
Type of Courses Accepted for CE Credit
Classroom, online self study, Insurance company sponsored courses.
Producers are limited to a maximum of 15 credit hours per reporting period for any combination of courses utilizing these methods.
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY The Minnesota Department of Commerce now requires that all online continuing education courses record the actual time the student spends in the course and not allow access to the final exam until the student's time equals the number of approved credit hours for the course. The course must also be stopped if the student has been inactive for more than 10 minutes. For more details click here
Carryover of excess CE hours is not allowed.
Credit will not be given for courses taken more than once in a three-year period.
Final exam is required to be monitored. Monitor form can be found here: www.kruise.com/monitorpage2.html
- Individuals licensed less than 6 months prior to the first renewal date are exempt for the first reporting period.
- Individuals who hold a full-lines license but use it to sell only credit life, credit accident and health and/or credit property. (Must request exemption form from the insurance department.)
- Inactive producers (must file a waiver form with the Department)
Method to Certify Completion
Your certificate will be e-mailed to you upon exam completion. The course provider will submit credits earned to the CE administrator within one business day of course completion. The producer certifies at license renewal that they have completed the CE requirement. The producer keeps the original certificates of completion in their files.
A nonresident whose home state has a reciprocal agreement with Minnesota is exempt. A nonresident whose home state does not have a reciprocal agreement with Minnesota may apply hours earned in the home state or another CE state to Minnesota's CE requirement.
For Additional Information Please Contact
Minnesota Department of Commerce
Office of the Commissioner
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: (651) 296-6319 -OR- (800) 657-3978
Fax: (651) 284-4107
State's website: http://www.commerce.state.mn.us/
System Requirements: Please note that Internet explorer 8 or higher: Download here
Or Mozilla Firefox 3.5 or higher: Download here are required to view our website when you wish to access the learning center.
This course is taken online in a slideshow format.Throughout the course lessons there will be questions and interactions for you to assist you in the learning process. These interactions may be multiple choice questions, matching terms, sequencing terms, etc.
This course is available to the student for one calendar year from the time of purchase.
How to Redeem Vouchers If you have received a CE voucher from an insurance company or wholesaler, you can redeem it by following these instructions.
- Choose your course format - see "course format" tab for more details or click "learn more" above options.
- Click on the red "buy" button to proceed to checkout.
- Be sure to enter your Voucher Code when checking out to apply your discount.
- You will be able to download the study materials immediately by clicking the red "Download Course" on your receipt. It will also be emailed to you and will be available for one year in your customer account.
- You will also be provided with a link and information to access the exam.
Your voucher covers an online book, online exam, grading and one CE certificate for insurance. It DOES NOT INCLUDE printed books, printed exams, state fees or CE certificate(s) or reporting for additional designations or types of CE, although they are available as options for additional charge.
If you choose printed books or exams, you will be charged the balance due during checkout.
If your state charges a fee to report your credit, this fee is due from you. When you check-out, you must pay this fee in order to access the course and obtain CE credit.
After you pass your exam, you will be able to purchase CE certificates for professional designations such as CFP, CPE, etc. you will be charged $10 for each one. Please DO NOT order these additional certificates unless you currently hold that professional designation. There are NO REFUNDS for additional certificates ordered and not needed.