Kentucky State Requirements
Continuing Education Information
All individual resident agents are subject to continuing education for every major line of authority: life, health, property, casualty, variable life and variable annuity, and personal lines. The following limited lines of authority are exempt: credit, crop, surety and travel as identified in KRS 304.9-230. The continuing education requirement of 24 hours for each continuing education biennium, must be completed the last day of your birth month, odd or even numbered years, depending on the year you were born.
Only courses prior-approved by the department or from the midwest zone will be accepted as approved credit hours.
All 24 hours of continuing education may now be classroom, correspondence, or a combination of the two. A course may only be credited one time during the biennium. At least six hours must be directly related to one or more of the agent's active lines of authority, and three hours must be in ethics.
The agent's lines of authority requiring continuing education will automaticially terminate if the agent fails to complete the continuing education requirement by the deadline or fails to verify with the Department the completion of the courses within 60 days of the last day of the birth month, odd or even year depending on the birth year.
Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Kentucky, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. *Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Kentucky law will be deemed compliant for the Kentucky requirement.
Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP)
Initial 8-hour LTCP training requirement: All Kentucky producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC partnership policies must complete 8 hours of state-approved Kentucky LTCP training before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTCP policies. Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.
Ongoing 4-hour LTCP training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, LTCP producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved Kentucky LTCP training each 2-year license term thereafter. Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.
If the agent has no remaining lines of authority, the license will terminate and the agent must return the license certificate to the department without demand. If the agent has one or more limited lines of authority (credit, crop, motor vehicle physical damage, surety and travel), the license will not terminate. However, the agent must return the license certificate to the department so we can reprint the license with the lines of authority that are still active. If an agent's license or line of authority terminates for failing to meet continuing education requirements, the agent has up to one year from the date of termination to complete the delinquent hours to have the license or line of authority reissued.
Continuing Education Compliance Date
Same as license renewal date.
License Renewal Date
License renewal date is the agent's date of birth biennially. Licensee's born in odd numbered years report in odd years, even numbered years report even years.
Type of Courses Accepted for CE Credit
Independent self study courses or classroom courses.
A maximum of 12 classroom or self-study hours may be carried over to the next reporting period.
Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a 2 year period.
Self-study final exams are not required to be monitored.
- Individuals with a limited line license for which an exam is not required.
- Individuals licensed less than a year at the time of compliance.
- Solicitors with limited licenses
Method to Certify Completion
You will be able to print your certificate of completion online once you have completed your exam. The agent sends their original certificate of completion to the Department of Insurance with their renewal form; agent must maintain a copy for at least three years.
Exempt if home state requirements are met by compliance date. The insurance department will use the PDB to verify home state license status.
For Additional Information Please Contact
Kentucky Insurance Department
215 West Main Street
PO Box 517
Frankfurt, KY 40602
FAX: (502) 564-6030
Email : DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov
State Website: http://insurance.ky.gov/
System Requirements: Please note that Internet explorer 8 or higher: Download here
Or Mozilla Firefox 3.5 or higher: Download here are required to view our website when you wish to access the learning center.
This course is taken online in a slideshow format. Throughout the course lessons there will be questions and interactions for you to assist you in the learning process. These interactions may be multiple choice questions, matching terms, sequencing terms, etc.
After all of the lessons are completed, you can proceed to the final exam.
If your state requires monitored exams, you must have your monitor sign-in and follow the monitor instructions BEFORE you begin the exam. See the State Information tab, Monitor tab, and Help Center for more information.
This course is available to the student for one calendar year from the time of purchase.