4-Hour NAIC Long-Term Care and Partnership
THIS COURSE MUST ONLY BE TAKEN IF YOU HAVE ALREADY TAKEN THE 8-HOUR NAIC LTC COURSE DURING A PRIOR LICENSE PERIOD!
The Deficit Reduction Act made it possible for all states who wish to to offer Partnership for Long-term Care policies. The NAIC model law and regulation specify that agents must meet certain continuation requirements in order to sell this product. In most states, agents will be required to take an 8-hour course in order to transact any type of LTC/Partnership LTC insurance policies. Agents must then take a 4-hour CE course each license period.
This course will satisfy the requirement for ongoing CE required by your state to continue to sell LTC/Partnership insurance. If you have a group of agents to train, please contact us regarding group discounts or in-house training.
For the most up to date information about Long Term Care & Partnership in your state click here.
Alabama State Requirements
Continuing Education Hours
- 24 hours every two year renewal period.
- Producers or service representatives who do not do outside sales, and who do not hold a nonresident license in any other state, must complete 12 CE hours, including 1.5 hours in ethics, are required every 2-year license term.
- Long-Term Care (LTC)
- Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Alabama, producers must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course approved in any state.
- Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.
- Adjusters: Beginning in January 2014, adjusters will need to complete 24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term (see license term below). *There is NO CE required for 2013 renewals. Odd Birth Year Renewals: After renewing the license in 2011, an adjuster born in an odd numbered year will be required to renew their license by the end of the birth month in 2013, but CE will not be required until the end of the birth month in 2015. Even Birth Year Renewals: After renewing the license in 2011, an adjuster born in an even numbered year will be required to renew their license, and must also complete 24 hours CE including 3 hours of ethics by the end of the birth month in 2014.
- Title Agents: Beginning in January 2014, Title Agents will need to complete CE every 2-year license term (see license term below). *There is NO CE required for 2013 renewals. Odd Birth Year Renewals: After renewing the license in 2013, Title Agents born in an odd numbered year will be required to renew their license, and must also complete 24 hours CE including 3 hours of ethics by the end of the birth month in 2015. Even Birth Year Renewals: Title Agents born in an even numbered year, will be required to renew their license, and must complete 12 hours CE including 2 hours in ethics by the end of the birth month in 2014. Note: Once CE has been completed and the license renewed for 2014, the regular CE requirement of 24 hours including 3 ethics, will go into effect for all consecutive renewal cycles. Even Birth Year Renewals: Title Agents born in an even numbered year, will be required to renew their license, and must complete 24 hours CE including 3 hours in ethics by the end of the birth month in 2016.
Course Subject Requirements
- 3 hours must be in ethics.
- All Alabama licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies shall be required to complete a one time 3 hour requirement on flood insurance.
Continuing Education Compliance Date
All continuing education credits must be achieved by the date of the license renewal.
Producers renewal date is the last day of the birth month every two years. Producers with an even numbered date of birth renew every even numbered year; Producers with an odd numbered date of birth renew every odd numbered year.
Types of Courses Accepted for CE Credit
Independent self-study courses and classroom study/seminar.
Self-study final exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party (i.e., someone with no financial dependency on the student). Monitor must be someone not needing a license.
A producer may carry over up to 24 excess CE hours into the next license term. Excess ethics hours may carry over as ethics credits in the next license term. No more than 3 hours of ethics may be carried over as ethics.
- Nonresident Producers are not required to complete continuing education courses.
- Individuals who are at least 60 years of age and have been licensed continuously in Alabama for at least 15 years.
- Individuals who are CLUs, CPCUs, CICs, ChFCs, CFPs, RHUs, REBCs, CHCs or ARMs.
- Individuals licensed only for lines of insurance for which a license exam is not required.
- Individuals licensed only for automobile physical damage insurance, industrial fire (debit fire) insurance and/or physical damage coverage on household goods, or producers licensed only for lines of insurance for which an examination is not required.
- Insurance company officers who are not engaged in the active sale of products.
- Individuals licensed less than one year at the time of the first CE compliance date are exempt for that first reporting period.
- Temporary license holders pending passage of the written examination for that line of insurance.
- Alabama adjusters.
- Active members of the Alabama legislature during any portion of the compliance period.
- Producers who are exempt from CE, will still be required to complete LTC training. The Federal Law will not allow exemptions for LTC.
Method to Certify Completion
Your certificate will be e-mailed to you within one business day of exam completion. The course provider submits credits earned to the CE administrator within one business day. The course provider keeps reports of credits earned in its files for three years. The license attaches copies of certificates of completion to the license renewal form and keeps the originals in his/her files.
A roster fee of $1.00 per credit hour ordered is required to process course completion hours in Alabama and will be added ot the order total upon checkout.
License Renewal Process
Producer licenses may be renewed as early as two months before the licensee's birth month, and within a grace period of 30 days after the last day of their birth month with a late fee of $50 added to the regular renewal fee. If not renewed before the end of the grace period, the license will be expired.
Adjusters are allowed to renew their license online between October 1st and December 31st with a renewal fee of $80. If your license is not renewed before January 1st, the license will be expired.
For Additional Information, Please Contact
Alabama Department of Insurance
Producer's Licensing Division
201 Monroe St. Suite 1700
Montgomery, AL 36104
Alabama Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130-3351
Phone: (334) 241-4126 or (334) 269-3550
Fax: (334) 240-3282 or (334) 241-4192
State Website: http://www.aldoi.gov/
System Requirements: Please note that Internet explorer 8 or higher: Download here
Or Mozilla Firefox 3.5 or higher: Download here are required to view our website when you wish to access the learning center.
This course is taken online in a slideshow format. Throughout the course lessons there will be questions and interactions for you to assist you in the learning process. These interactions may be multiple choice questions, matching terms, sequencing terms, etc.
After all of the lessons are completed, you can proceed to the final exam.
If your state requires monitored exams, you must have your monitor sign-in and follow the monitor instructions BEFORE you begin the exam. See the State Information tab, Monitor tab, and Help Center for more information.
This course is available to the student for one calendar year from the time of purchase.
How to Redeem Vouchers If you have received a CE voucher from an insurance company or wholesaler, you can redeem it by following these instructions.
- Choose your course format - see "course format" tab for more details or click "learn more" above options.
- Click on the red "buy" button to proceed to checkout.
- Be sure to enter your Voucher Code when checking out to apply your discount.
- You will be able to download the study materials immediately by clicking the red "Download Course" on your receipt. It will also be emailed to you and will be available for one year in your customer account.
- You will also be provided with a link and information to access the exam.
Your voucher covers an online book, online exam, grading and one CE certificate for insurance. It DOES NOT INCLUDE printed books, printed exams, state fees or CE certificate(s) or reporting for additional designations or types of CE, although they are available as options for additional charge.
If you choose printed books or exams, you will be charged the balance due during checkout.
If your state charges a fee to report your credit, this fee is due from you. When you check-out, you must pay this fee in order to access the course and obtain CE credit.
After you pass your exam, you will be able to purchase CE certificates for professional designations such as CFP, CPE, etc. you will be charged $10 for each one. Please DO NOT order these additional certificates unless you currently hold that professional designation. There are NO REFUNDS for additional certificates ordered and not needed.
Monitor Instructions - General
Your state requires that your exam(s) MUST be monitored. The qualifications of the person who must monitor your exam are explained on the monitor form. The person monitoring your exam must be with you prior to beginning to take the exam. Taking the exam without your monitor present will invalidate your exam results and certificate.
The monitor must print, sign and complete the affidavit found by clicking Printable Monitor Form to indicate that the exam was taken without any outside help from any source. Please fax the completed monitor form to: (619) 421-8171 immediately after completing the exam. Your exam will not be completed, and no CE credit will be awarded or reported to your state, until the properly completed, signed monitor form has been received (along with any state reporting fees that may be due).